World Habitat Day 2012

The United Nations has designated the 1st Monday of October every year as World Habitat Day. This year, World Habitat Day will be celebrated on 1 October 2012. The idea is to reflect on the state of our towns and cities and the basic right of all, to adequate shelter. It is also intended to remind the world of its collective responsibility for the future of the human habitat.
The United Nations chose the theme Changing Cities, Building Opportunities because cities are the engines of growth. It is in the cities that many realise their dreams of a better life. Even if this is not achieved, still many more leave the rural areas and flock to the cities for no other reason than the promise of a better future and prosperity. This they achieve by either getting jobs or by starting businesses which at one point not only provide for the owners but even other employees thus creating jobs.

Under this theme, UN-Habitat wants to underscore the need to plan our cities better because as has also been stated, unplanned growth of cities lead to chaotic development and urban sprawl. When well planned, cities can continue to afford opportunities to both the current and future residents. This dovetails with the new UN-Habitat campaign, I am a city changer which seeks to involve all in making their cities a better place to live.

  1. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Studying this info So i am happy to show that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I so much without a doubt will make sure to don?t fail to remember this website and provides it a look regularly.

  2. Hurrah! After all I got a website from where I be able
    to actually obtain valuable facts concerning my study and knowledge.

  3. A person necessarily assist to make critically posts I would state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point? I amazed with the research you made to create this particular put up extraordinary. Fantastic task!

  4. Great work! This is the type of info that should be shared around the net. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my website . Thanks =)

  5. Perfect piece of work you have done, this website is really cool with excellent info .

  6. Howdy this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

    • Andrew A. Sailer
    • December 19th, 2012

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  1. October 9th, 2012

Leave a Reply

